The Making of an Environmental Activist

When I Grow Up ...

Booh came home with this homework sheet, “What would be your dream job when you are an adult?” for vocational week at her school. Her answer, “I want to be an environmental activist.”

Right now she wants to save the ants that are coming back with the winter thaw at her school  She’s rallied her classmates and teachers together to support her “cause'” and for the second year in a row she and her classmates have  created posters saying, “Dot step on the awntss!  Woch awcht! ” (Read: “Don’t step on the ants!  Watch out!)  They’ve posted these signs throughout the school  This desire to protect the ants comes from her love of insects.  She use to want to be a Bug Doctor.  Makes sense that now she wants to be an environmental activist.

How does she know about environmental activism? She knows from stories I’ve shared about work I’ve done as a young environmental activist participating in non-violent civil disobedience.  And I’ve read stories to her about other non-violent peace, social and environmental activists, including Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr. and  Julia Butterfly Hill.  After learning about Julia Butterfly Hill, she did a sit-in in one of the trees in our front yard to protect it from being cut down.  I had to reassure her that we had no plans on clear-cutting our front yard!

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “The Making of an Environmental Activist”

  1. Lisa Says:

    So adoreable!!!!! I love that she rallied to save the ants! When I was an elem. teacher I seriously scolded kids that stepped on ants or any bug for that matter. Teaching them to respect all life is so important….I bet you are beaming with pride that your daughter understands this. Good job Enviro Mama!!! :)

  2. Lisa Says:

    I sooo love your posts! I thought I followed you and just realized I hadn’t done that yet….I’m a follower now! I also nominated you for the Tree of Happiness award since your blog ideas have led to happy days for us! :) Visit my Feb. 23 post to see the nomiation post, I posted it last night but put it under the wrong date! Thanks for such a great blog!

  3. icybooh Says:

    Wow! Thanks Lisa. I’m so happy to hear that ideas found here have brought a bit of happiness to your days. Your award has brought a bit to mine. And always your comments too … oh! and your blog is so delicious! I love all the photos of the crafts and activities you and your family do. – So back atcha as a sources of happiness (and inspiration!) for me too. :-)

  4. Collecting Trash on Earth Day in Washington, D.C. « icybooh Says:

    […] This lends well to her desire to be an environmental activist. […]

  5. Raj jyoti bora Says:

    sooo love your posts! I thought I followed you and just realized I hadn’t done that yet….I’m a follower now! I also nominated you for the Tree of Happiness award since your blog ideas have led to happy days for us! Visit my Feb. 23 post to see the nomiation post, I posted it last night but put it under the wrong date! Thanks for such a great blog!

  6. Raj jyoti bora Says:

    YA….sooo love your posts! I thought I followed you and just realized I hadn’t done that yet….I’m a follower now! I also nominated you for the Tree of Happiness award since your blog ideas have led to happy days for us! Visit my Feb. 23 post to see the nomiation post, I posted it last night but put it under the wrong date! Thanks for such a great blog!…RAJ

  7. Raj jyoti bora Says:

    the making of the environment activist should b don ei india….
    india is emerging as a global sewage packet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

